Posted by: jess | September 16, 2008

Missed connections

Sometimes, when I’m bored or putting off something incredibly important like, say, finding a new apartment and figuring out how I’m going to pay for it, I check out the missed connections on Craigslist. What can I say? I’m a hopeless romantic trapped in a slightly cynical and somewhat guarded body. Missed connections are technology’s answer to an age-old story: boy sees girl across crowded room, falls in love at first sight and lets her get away (cue violins, or “You’re Beautiful” by James Blunt). Now, thanks to Craig and his wonderful lists, that boy (or girl, obviously) can now post an ad and hope that his beloved will click on. The missed connections are often amusing, sometimes weird and incredibly romantic.

Some samplings from the city of love:

Margot from Le Palmier – w4w – 19 (Le Marais, Paris)

I can’t stop thinking about you…we met Saturday 23rd August at a bar called Le Palmier near Les Halles. You were 18, you said your name was Margot. You were with your best friend Maryll, she introduced us. I was with my two friends.
We hit it off and then at the end of the night I found out that you were going to Montreal for a year.
You left so abruptly, with me standing in the middle of the street in front of the bar, staring after you. I didn’t get your number, or even your last name.
I’ve never felt that way about a girl before, and I don’t know if I ever will again.
Please, if you read this post, contact me.

Bus 72, around 5:30 – 6pm tonight – w4m (Paris)

You:short dark hair, grey sweater, tall (at least taller than me, which is not that difficult)

me: petite, long brown hair, brown jacket, dark blue top, grey skirt, beige shoulder bag…

You asked me for directions and told me my english was great, but I had to get off at the next stop.

I wish I hadn’t.

Hope you’ll see this message before you leave the country…I would love to be your guide around the city

Saundres, where are you??? – w4m (in the park by Notre Dame)

I met you a few years ago when I was visiting Paris for school. We started talking, you, a chubby old guy playing some sort of flute thing, my friend jackie and me. We drank red wine and smoked cigarettes. We had a steamy makeout session on the grass. We were supposed to go out later that night but I fell asleep. You waited for me ALL night but the prof I was with made you go away. I think about you ALL THE TIME. You were so sexy, the way you pronounced my name, everything. I remember you told me you were a tour guide.

Do you still have the polaroid picture we took? You told me not to leave, to stay in Paris. I should have.

Leave a Reply

Categories

